The History of Junior Cricket in the Brisbane North Region


In 1972 under the banner of Toombul Junior Cricket Group, junior cricket as we know it today, began. It all started with Cec Anstey OAM, a member of Toombul District Cricket Club. He thought it rather strange that many if not all winter sports Rugby, Rugby League, Soccer and Aussie Rules had junior competitions but cricket was lagging. He had many conversations regarding starting a junior cricket competition with his great mate Errold La Frantz MBE, also a member of Toombul District Cricket Club. Around this time Cliff Christensen from North Star Sports Club wrote to Queensland Cricket regarding a junior cricket competition and as North Star was in the Toombul area he was directed to Toombul District Cricket Club and the three wise men conceived the notion of an organised junior cricket competition.


A lot of has changed since these humble begginings. In Season 1972 / 1973 in the Toombul Junior Cricket Competition there were 15 Clubs with 33 teams with age groups, Under 10, Under 12, Under 14 and Open


During 1973 / 1974 season the Brisbane Junior Cricket Association and the Queensland Junior Cricket Association (QJC) were formed. In season 1974 / 1975 the Toombul group became Zone 1 and Valley / Norths Zone 2 commenced. The three men who were at the helm of Valley / Norths Zone 2 were Rae Finlayson, Roger Harris and Laurie Harvey.


In the ensuing years junior cricket became very widespread throughout Queensland and today, each year, there are Queensland Age Championships along with many Development Carnivals.


A restructure took place in North Brisbane for Season 1997 / 1998 when Zone 1, Zone 2 and Zone 6 (Sandgate) merged to become Brisbane North Junior Cricket Association.


Thank you Cec, Errold and Cliff for your foresight we are eternally grateful.


L to R: Cec Anstey OAM, Cliff Christensen, Errold La Frantz MBE